CNAS Announces 2022 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows

CNAS Announces 2022 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows

F.P. Report

Washington: The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) announced today the selection of the 2022 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows. Now in its 13th year, the Next Gen Program is a fundamental component of CNAS’ commitment to ensuring the United States develops a diverse cadre of talented individuals dedicated to preserving and strengthening its national security. After a highly competitive process, CNAS selected a bipartisan group of 24 emerging leaders from multiple sectors. This year’s fellows include members of the military; government professionals, including from the Department of Defense, the Department of State, and Congress; individuals from the private and nonprofit sectors; and think tank experts.

“Each year, this fellowship gets progressively more competitive. We’re proud to have such a diverse array of eye-watering talent in the 2022 cohort,” said Michèle Flournoy, CNAS Co-Founder and Chair of the Board, who will co-chair the program along with Stephen Biegun, former U.S. Deputy Secretary of State, and Christian Marrone, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs at Lockheed Martin. “These emerging national security leaders are truly extraordinary, and their commitment to service should give us all hope for the future.”

Through this leadership development program and its monthly speaker series and small private discussions, the Next Gen Fellows will engage with those who have led before them, developing a deeper understanding of U.S. national security interests and policies, as well as leadership principles and best practices. Previous classes have met with former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, former Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson, former National Security Advisor Susan Rice, former White House Chiefs of Staff Josh Bolten and Denis McDonough, General Stanley McChrystal, Admiral Cecil Haney, Ambassador Bonnie Jenkins, Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Congressman Mike Gallagher (R-WI), and many others. Fellows will also collaborate with CNAS experts and participate in events. Upon completion of the program, fellows remain connected to the Center through the CNAS alumni program.

“I am excited for the opportunity to work with such an impressive group of young, foreign policy and national security experts” said Biegun. “It is my hope that working together they will build lasting professional relationships that will pay dividends throughout their future careers.”

“I’m delighted to welcome this extraordinary cohort,” added Marrone, “and I look forward to working with them in the months ahead to continue crafting their career trajectory and leadership growth.”

The complete list of the 2022 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows is below. Their full biographies are available here.

CNAS 2022 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows:

Mark Akpaninyie, Indo-Pacific Analyst, U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Foreign Affairs

Frederico Bartels, Senior Policy Analyst for Defense Budgeting, The Heritage Foundation

Jamil Brown, Instructor of Political Science, U.S. Air Force Academy

Ryan Bugas, Strategy Officer, Central Intelligence Agency

Philip Caruso, Chairman, No One Left Behind

Erin Corcoran, Foreign Affairs Specialist, Office of the Secretary of Defense

Jessica Drun, Data Scientist Analyst, S&P Global

Emily Elledge, Captain, U.S. Marine Corps

Tina Huang, Policy Program Manager, Stanford Institute for Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence

Sarah Istel, Deputy General Counsel, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence

Michael Keating, Director of Client Services, Deep Labs AI

Leland Lazarus, Special Assistant and Speechwriter, U.S. Southern Command

Izaak Mendoza, Director of Programs and Communications, Globally

Eugene Mok, Attorney-Advisor, Office of the General Counsel, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Kathryn Morisy, Strategist, The National Counterterrorism Center

Jacob Morton, Lieutenant, U.S. Navy

Margaret Mullins, National Security Advisor, Office of Senator Raphael Warnock

Anna Rubinstein, Director of Test and Evaluation, MORSE Corporation

Alexandra Schmitt, Foreign Policy Fellow, U.S. House of Representatives

Jessica Shoemaker, Civilian Intelligence Officer, U.S. Air Force

Hannah Smith, Captain, U.S. Army, and Instructor, Department of Social Sciences, United States Military Academy at West Point

Joseph Tomczak, Special Operations Pilot, U.S. Air Force

Simone Williams, Program Manager, LCWINS

Nadine Zaatar, Economic Unit Chief and Senior Economic Advisor, U.S. Department of State

CNAS would like to thank its partners, Lockheed Martin and the American Express Foundation, for their generous support of the program.

The post CNAS Announces 2022 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows appeared first on The Frontier Post.